Assignments, Olivet Nazarene University

Attraversiamo

“The beautiful part of writing is that you don’t have to get it right the first time, unlike, say, a brain surgeon.” – Robert Cormier

Writing is encoded in my DNA. I decided to study journalism because I wanted a secure outlet to be a writer. I wanted a reason to write every day that enabled me to stand up for what I believe in – which I realize now might be a naïve view of journalism.

Today, I see journalism as a way to tell stories of people who might not get the recognition they deserve otherwise. I write stories about pressing issues on campus at Olivet Nazarene University, informing students of changes taking place – good and bad (although I prefer to talk about the good).

For as much as I love telling the story, I might be even more passionate about editing and managing. I am very organized in my work and try to be as efficient as possible. I think successfully staying on deadline with Olivet’s student newspaper the GlimmerGlass speaks to that. I manage about 40 students and do so effectively. Before every issue is printed, I read through all articles and edit them to the best of my ability. The AP Stylebook is my journalistic bible.

Writing, editing and managing is only a stepping stone for becoming a well-rounded journalist. I know that to define myself as a multimedia journalist I need to expand my skills in photography, video production and website creation and management. I am not passionate about any of these aspects of journalism; however, I was not so passionate about reporting when I was first introduced.

Working with students with different concentrations in Communications I hope will inspire me to be more excited about multimedia journalism. Everyone has their niche and we can help each other and learn from each other through this project.

In the movie Eat, Pray, Love, Julia Roberts’ character Liz Gilbert is asked what word represents who she is and all she can think of to say is “writer.” At the end of her journey, she finds a new word, “attraversiamo,” an Italian word that means “let’s cross over.”

While working with my multimedia group this semester, I hope to find my own “attraversiamo” that will represent who I am as a journalist moving forward.

Writing might be encoded in my DNA, but I had to learn how to be a reporter. I had to learn how to edit and manage. And I am looking forward to learning how to work with different aspects of multimedia journalism that helps me improve as a reporter and engages a 21st Century audience.

Leave a Reply

